About me

My name’s Simon Perks and I live in Somerset, UK, with my wife, Natalie, and Molly and Ozzy, my Labrador dogs. Welcome to my home on the web. You’re very welcome, so feel free to grab a cup of tea and make yourself at home.

I’m a political and social philosopher by training (to the extent to which anyone can actually train to be something like that) and worry a lot about the challenges that we face as a society. I’m also a chartered public finance accountant and a public finance specialist, which gives me a practical perspective on things, too.

I have a keen interest in politics, political philosophy, public policy, public finance and the delivery of public services. And I write about the things that concern, frustrate or quite simply outrage me, with a view to helping to bring about positive change for people and for our planet.

I blog here regularly(-ish) about what I’m thinking, what I’m doing and what’s going on in my life. This includes anything from the books I’m reading and the things I’m working on, to the stuff the dogs get up to and the food I’m growing in the garden.

I’m a big fan of the outdoors, too, and love being outside with the dogs. We’re blessed with some fantastic countryside here in Somerset and we spend a lot of our time walking, hiking and running in the fresh air. So you’ll also find me writing here about what we’ve been up to, new places we’ve discovered and some of the kit we’ve found useful.

Oh, and I’m training our youngest Labrador (Ozzy) in search and detection techniques, with a view to her quite possibly becoming Somerset’s first archaeology dog. You’ll read quite a bit about that, too.

Although my family and I now live in Somerset, I’ve lived and worked in the UK, France, Germany, Russia and the United States. I have degrees in political science and theoretical physics. I speak English, French, German and Russian fluently and can get by in Dutch and Mandarin Chinese.

To earn money (and because it’s fun), I run Sockmonkey Consulting, a small strategy and performance consulting practice, through which I work with organisations across the public, not-for-profit and social enterprise sectors. You can find out more about my consulting activities here.

I also worked for ten years in the public sector practice of a ‘big four’ international audit and consultancy firm. And, thankfully, survived to tell the tale. When I’m not writing or consulting, I like to run, hike, kayak, row, paddleboard, read, grow plants and bake things. I also drink quite a lot of tea.